The Trocklafane Podcast Episode 1

31 Jul

After months of dreaming, planning, preparing, procrastinating, messing up, redoing, and lots of editing, the very first episode of The Trocklafane Podcast has been released for the world to hear.

download it here (34 min.)

.

in this episode, I…
…explain the concept of time lord rock – what it is and how it got started – along with attempting to explain a little thing called filk music.
…introduce myself and how I got into Doctor Who and time lord rock.
…talk about what the podcast is all about, goals I have for it, and what makes it special.

Songs:
“Blink,” by Chameleon Circuit
“The Doctor,” by Turn Left
“Doctorin’ the Tardis,” by The Timelords/The KLF
“The Doctor and I,” by John Barrowman

Links:
Charlie’s original video for the song Blink
Listen to more Chameleon Circuit here and buy their music here
Listen to Turn Left here
Riddle™, the wizard rock band of the girls from Turn Left
Watch the Doctorin’ the Tardis music video here

.

(This is my first time podcasting, so I apologize for any rough spots where I might sound scripted or talk too fast, or enunciate poorly, or whatever. I’m still figuring it out!)

Hopefully this episode gives you a taste of what’s to come. The next episode should feature more music, less talk, and the start of some fun new segments. Along with a better microphone, hopefully.

Please leave me feedback in the comments, or email me at trocklafanepodcast@gmail.com.

among other things, in this episode, I…

…explain the concept of time lord rock – what it is and how it got started – along with attempting to explain a little thing called filk music.

…introduce myself and how I got into Doctor Who and time lord rock.

…talk about what the podcast is all about, goals I have for it, and what makes it special.

several songs were played:

Blink, by Chameleon Circuit

The Doctor, by Turn Left

Doctorin’ the Tardis, by The Timelords/The KLF

The Doctor and I, by John Barrowman

links:

Charlie’s original video for the song Blink

listen to more Chameleon Circuit here and buy their music here

Listen to Turn Left here

Riddle™, the wizard rock band of the girls from Turn Left

Watch the Doctorin’ the Tardis music video here

(this is my first time podcasting, so I apologize for any rough spots where I might sound scripted or talk too fast, or enunciate poorly, or whatever. I’m still figuring it out!)

Hopefully this episode gives you a taste of what’s to come. The next episode should feature more music, less talk, and the start of some fun new segments. Along with a better microphone, hopefully.

Please leave me feedback in the comments, or email me at trocklafanepodcast@gmail.com.

15 Responses to “The Trocklafane Podcast Episode 1”

  1. Hillary July 31, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Loved it! I actually *yelped* when you played “The Doctor & I”!! Have you read “Anything Goes …” by John Barrowman?
    I haven’t yet begun to watch the old Doctors, but I will soon. Now, we just need to get you into Buffy and you’ll have a complete set of geekdom!

    • paperclipz August 21, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      Yay! Glad you liked it. I haven’t read “Anything Goes,” but I bet it’s interesting. And Buffy is definitely on my list of shows to check out (once I have the time).

  2. Draculasaurus August 3, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    loved it.
    great first episode, your website looks really nice too.
    D

    • paperclipz August 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it! I’m pretty proud of it.

  3. Sunni August 5, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I thought it was awesome. 🙂

  4. lizaanne42 August 9, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Hi! Hooray for a Trock podcast, and I’m eager to listen–just downloading the first episode now. Found you from Draculasaurus’s recommendation on Twitter.

    –Lillibet

    • paperclipz August 21, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

      I’m glad people are hearing about my podcast. I hope you like it!

      • lizaanne42 August 22, 2010 at 4:29 am #

        Enjoyed it very much, indeed, and am looking forward to the next one. You go, girl!
        Welcome to podcasting! (I’m one of the other few girls with a mic out here– on Professor Dave’s Ark in Space).

  5. Kris August 22, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Awesome Podcast.
    I was refered to the site when you added a few of my friends Trock bands to your list, and had a look around.
    I can’t wait for the next one! 😀

    • paperclipz August 26, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

      Thanks! Hopefully the next episode will be out soon…

  6. Betsy September 19, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Hi! I’m the one that tweeted to you about Lost. I have a lot of thoughts that can’t fit into a tweet.

    First off, this is a brilliant idea. It’s a very niche thing, so you obviously won’t have a wide audience, but I get the feeling those of us who listen will be very loyal. I too found Doctor Who through wizard rock (though I succumbed to watching it at the insistence of my friend solemnlyswear22 on Deviantart). I’m very, very new to the show. I only started watching about a month ago and I’m a really slow TV watcher (In the sense that it takes me forever to get on my ass and watch–even if I’m in love with something.), but I’ve loved what I’ve seen. I was terrified during Blink and I sobbed when I saw Vincent and the Doctor (Yes, I’m watching them way out of order.). Such great stuff.

    Anywhoo, as your first podcast, I’ll bet it technically sucked (Because let’s face it: a number of episodes from now you will cringe at this. It’s the same as with artists and writers.), but I really, really enjoyed it. You had some interesting discussion as well as some good
    music.

    What I liked most is that you’re not solely focusing on the modern day trock movement. It’s nice to see some older stuff included. It was interesting that you brought up filk. It reminds me of a question asked about wizard rock: Is wizard rock filk? there’s some really interesting discussion on this question here http://journal.transformativeworks.org/index.php/twc/article/view/139/102 and here http://community.livejournal.com/filk/410542.html.

    Also, there are a couple of songs I’d love to hear on the podcast, for those who haven’t heard them yet. First is Dr. Noise’s amazing cover of Exterminate, Regenerate. I like it even better than the original, which is really saying something. Second is Regeneration Is Useless (With Two Broken Hearts) by The Medusa Cascade. Definitely consider both.

    Another thing you might want to do is interview trockers if you can. I know WZRD, one of the wizard rock podcasts has interviews and while the trock community might be smaller, I’m sure there are some folks making trock who’d be willing to talk to you. Honestly, the only trockers I can say I know well are the guys from Chameleon Circuit (Well, three of them–Chris isn’t really that active on Youtube.) because we get to know them through their Youtube videos. I’d love to get to know other members of the movement. This isn’t to say that I wouldn’t want to hear from Chameleon Circuit, especially if you could weasel secrets about that new album from them. 😉 So if interviews are possible for you I say DO EET!

    Finally, I have told the girl I mentioned earlier (solemnlyswear22) about the podcast and told her she should give you feedback. Let’s cross our fingers and hope she doesn’t ignore me. Even if she does, don’t hold it against her. She’s a great person.

    • paperclipz September 21, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

      Wow, thanks for all the feedback. It’s cool to find someone who got into Doctor Who the same way I did.

      I’m so glad people like the podcast. It is very niche, but that’s kind of what I was going for. If I just made another general Doctor Who news/review/discussion sort of podcast, I don’t think people would really care, because there are already plenty of podcasts like that out there.

      I’m really trying to play music from a variety of places/people: old stuff and new stuff, popular songs (Chameleon Circuit) and lesser known ones, people who call themselves trockers, filkers, or just plain musicians. There’s so much good Doctor Who themed music that no one really knows about, so it’s important to me to play music other than just Chameleon Circuit and other songs that have already been featured on other podcasts and compilations.

      The whole trock/wrock/filk discussion is something that’s particularly interesting to me. Though, it’s kind of tricky to talk about, because people seem to disagree on the definitions of things. That’s part of why I wanted to address it.

      I have a lot of ideas/dreams for things to do with this podcast in the future, and interviewing trockers is definitely one of them. I’d love to do that. I don’t really know much about how to go about interviewing someone, but it’s something I’d really like to try someday. Hopefully I’ll be able to find someone to interview. I’d love to interveiw Alex or Charlie, but I’m not sure how easy that’d be to arrange. (especially since I’m not a very experienced/established podcaster yet.) From my experience so far (contacting artists about playing their songs), it’s been kind of hard to contact trock people. The whole trock “movement” isn’t as active as it was when it first got started back in 2008 (or as big/active as the wizard rock community) and a lot of people don’t seem check their pages anymore. Maybe this podcast will inspire people to write new songs? (Or, more likely, the next time Chameleon Circuit puts out an album, it will create a wave of new trock music.)

      As for your song suggestions, I was actually thinking of asking for song requests from listeners in the future anyway, so I guess you get to be the first one. I love Dr Noise’s Exterminate Regenerate cover. It IS better than the original. I’m already planning on playing it on a future episode, for sure. Regeneration is Useless is a really great song too. …I could probably play both in an upcoming episode. (maybe episode 4?)

      Anyway, thanks for listening! (and for recommending it to your friend, too. It makes me really happy to have more listeners!)

  7. Betsy September 19, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    I completely forgot to ask one more thing: any Doctor Who podcasts you can recommend to me? As I said, I’m new, so I don’t really know where to start (Beyond, y’know, here.).

    • paperclipz September 21, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      There are a ton of great Doctor Who podcasts out there. I know I for one listen to so many that it’s almost embarrassing. The Doctor Who Podcast Alliance (www.doctorwhopodcastalliance.org) includes about a billion podcasts and would probably be a good place to find a bunch of Doctor Who podcasts all in one place and see if there are any that pique your interest.

      But, here are my favorites:
      -The Ood Cast (theoodcast.com) You should definitely check them out. They do comedy sketches and filk/trock songs and all kinds of other fun stuff.
      -Bridging the Rift (bridgingtherift.wordpress.com) They focus on Doctor Who fandom specifically, they talk about fanart, fan fiction, fanvids, and, of course, time lord rock. They were a big inspiration to me for this podcast.
      -The Flashing Blade Podcast (flashingbladepodcast.net) They tend to have a lot of focus on old Doctor Who, and also on Big Finish (audio adventure spin-off stories), but they’re really fun to listen to. (I think that’s because they’re a little bit crazy)
      -Two Minute Time Lord (twominutetimelord.com) each episode is really short, so it’s easy to listen to if you don’t have much time. The episodes are really well thought out and he often has really interesting opinions and ideas on things.
      -The Doctor Who Podcast (thedoctorwhopodcast.com) is a good solid Doctor Who podcast with news, reviews, discussions, and interviews. They interviewed Alex Day a while ago.
      -Radio Free Skaro (radiofreeskaro.com) is another good Doctor Who podcast. (They may or may not be who I was thinking of when I said Doctor Who podcasters tend to be “grumpy middle-aged men”, but you gotta love them anyway)
      -Also, I feel like I should also mention the US WhoCast (uswhocast.wordpress.com) (because I’m in an upcoming episode) and The Unearthly Child Podcast (unearthlychildpodcast.com) (because he’s my age and could use more listeners).

      So… um, yeah. That’s a lot of podcasts. I guess you can try a few out and see which ones you like.

Leave a Reply

